Do a TEFL course or not bother?

In a previous post, I mentioned that my TESOL certification is not worth the paper it’s printed on, and that in class experience has been infinitely more valuable in teaching me how to be a teacher.

But would I tell anyone to ‘not bother’ with a TEFL course (or an equivalent)?

Simple English ~ Nicola Prentis

I’ve seen this argument come up a few times in various places over the last few weeks, mostly in the Facebook teaching groups I joined when I was promoting the pre-conference survey Russ and I did. And then, there it was again on ELTjam.

unqualified_china_teachers

A lot of ELT people feel really strongly that anyone doing an online teaching course with no practical component is insulting the industry and every professional in it. Not to mention doing the students a huge disservice.

I have the Trinity TESOL and an MA in ELT – self funded. Whenever anyone asks me what course I recommend they do, I always ask them where they want to go and teach. And, maybe, how long they plan to stay in teaching. (My personal advice being make sure you have a get-out after two years because you can only grow old, poor and pensionless in ELT).

View original post 1,335 more words

Leave a Reply

