International Day of Doubt

Yesterday (1 June) was the international day of doubt.

Anyone who is comfortable in their status as a non-believer is encouraged to post the following as their Facebook status, and share it publicly so that everyone can see it.

Friends, if you no longer believe or are struggling with your faith, you are NOT alone. Many people have been where you are. Please send me a private message if you would like to talk about your doubts. I will keep your information and our conversation private, and I will do my best to answer your questions and provide support and resources to you as my friend. If you aren’t comfortable messaging me, please consider visiting the Facebook page of Recovering From Religion and asking your question there, either publicly on their wall or via confidential private message.

https://www.facebook.com/RecoveringFromReligion

I was nearly too chicken to post it. As it is, I posted it this morning (June 2nd), instead of on the right day. I’m an atheist, and I’m generally open about it, but I’m still not sure how the people in my life feel about it. Would this be flaunting it, and throwing it in their faces?

What eventually won me over was the thought that, if someone in my life had posted that in their status at any point, I’d have felt less alone. A huge part of what made deconversion difficult and painful for me was the thought that I was somehow abnormal and defective. I kept silent, because everyone around me was silent too. This has nothing to do with hurting people, but with supporting people who need it.

So I’m posting this here as well, even though it is no longer the International Day of Doubt. It’s not a message I believe should be confined to one day, but should be out there for anyone to hear. Feel free to reach out to me, or to Recovering From Religion. You are not alone.

One thought on “International Day of Doubt

Leave a Reply

