It’s Sentimental, I Know

Christmas music doesn’t make me emotional. I like singing it, but it’s hardly going to make me teary eyed. Mostly because songs like Let It Snow have no actual meaning in my life.

This song, however, is much more like the Christmas I know. Real Christmas. My family aren’t big drinkers, so there’s not much of the white wine, but there’s a lot of the sun.

For me, Christmas smelled like the gammon my dad would cook for Christmas lunch. It was sitting at my grandparents’ house with my cousins, trying in vain to remember the lyrics of The 12 Days of Christmas, eating Quality Street, waiting for a Christmas lunch of mostly cold dishes, as it’s the middle of Summer. It’s my cousins cracking jokes, my uncle making dry, wise-crack comments (proving that snark is an inherited trait), and my grandpa being harassed by my grandmother to eat more. Actually, my gran harassing all of us to eat more.

Confession time. This song does make me teary eyed. Well… these lines made me teary eyed:

And if, my baby girl,
When you’re twenty one or thirty one
And Christmas comes around
And you find yourself 9000 miles from home
You’ll know whatever comes
Your brothers and sisters and me and your mum.
Will be waiting for you in the sun

 

It’s sentimental. I know.

Leave a Reply

