An Observation After The Weekend That Wasn’t

So. I’m here.  I’m alive.  And I am… dare I say it?… happy.

Observation – this far into my contract at TUKS, I was miserable, I hated my job and myself.

Even when I had adjusted to the work, I knew I wouldn’t be staying. I looked for other jobs, I day dreamed about other jobs, and making more money.

But I stayed. I learnt. I grew up.

This job is already more work than TUKS was, and more is coming. I know it’s early days yet, and I know that things that don’t bug me yet will get to me in time, but I already know that whatever happens, this is already better than last year. And if I could get through lecturing EOT, I can do this.

What’s the difference here? I’m not sure yet. Maybe it’s that I have experience I didn’t have back then. Maybe it’s that my students are better than the child-ren doing EOT. Maybe it’s that EPIK (or the office of education, or the school, or whatever) – unlike the university – sees fit to pay us a living wage. Maybe it’s that…

I don’t know. There are too many things that influence my thoughts on the matter.

But – unlike this time last year – I certainly don’t see myself anywhere else for the conceivable future.

In short, I feel a bit like singing I think I’m gonna like it here.

One thought on “An Observation After The Weekend That Wasn’t

  1. I understand how you feel completely, I stayed at a job for almost 4 years that I thought of leaving everyday for better pay and something I would enjoy. I really enjoy this teaching thing, even though it is my first time. I’m thinking for myself enjoy my time in my tiny spot and about 5 months from now I will need to reevaluate myself and ask do I want to stay here or do I want to move to another location in South Korea. I think being in a bigger place would be good for my personal growth but bad on the wallet. However, that is to be told in time later. But like you I will be singing, “I think I’m gonna like it here.” lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

