A Note

When I started this blog, I imagined it would be one of those helpful ones that potential ESL teachers would read, and it would give them advice and so on. I would talk all about my adventures, my new friends and Korean cultures from a foreigner’s perspective. It would be witty and amusing, but still helpful.

And I kept that up for two posts.

I’ve tried to write a couple of other posts, but I don’t want to write about the things everyone else has written about, and the information you can find just by looking for it – blogs about food and clothing and electronics. I want to write about all the things that the other blogs haven’t been discussing, or that I haven’t read other bloggers writing about.

There are a lot of things going on I want to document – all that stuff I’ve been talking to the other applicants about. All the things I’ve been talking to people at home about. Leaving here and going there and all the people involved in both sides of it.

  • My intake seems to have turned into a bit of a lonely hearts club. People are breaking up with their significant others left, right and centre. Is this necessary? Why is it happening?
  • The reactions that people have, and what they tend to say. I’ve written about this in more general terms, but I really want to consider why people are saying what they’re saying, and what kind of reactions they seem to expect from me.
  • How much I love the people who are supporting me, and how conflicted I feel over the people I care about who… well… aren’t. And the fact that there are variations of being supportive and not being supportive.
  • The rather sudden knowledge that there’s no turning back. And even if there was, I wouldn’t turn back.

Anyway. You have now been warned.

One thought on “A Note

  1. I am sure that there are a lot of sites out there where the FAQ’s regarding this type of situation are answered. I think that shifting to a more personally introspective angle is great. It is something that I feel is perhaps more honest and personal, it is something that others who start out upon this journey may use to help them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

